Local Hazard Mitigation Plan

2020 Update

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) defines Hazard Mitigation as any action taken to reduce or eliminate the long-term risk to human life and property from natural hazards.

Sacramento County partnered with the Cities of Sacramento, Citrus Heights, Elk Grove, Folsom, Galt, Isleton, Rancho Cordova and several special districts to update their countywide 2016 Local Hazard Mitigation Plan (LHMP).  Flood, drought, earthquake, and severe weather are just a few of the hazards to Sacramento communities.  While natural hazards such as these cannot be prevented, a Hazard Mitigation Plan forms the foundation for a community's long-term strategy to reduce disaster losses by breaking the repeated cycle of disaster damage and reconstruction. Communities with a FEMA-approved LHMP are eligible for FEMA pre- and post-disaster grant funding and for lower costs of flood insurance to residents through the National Flood Insurance Program's (NFIP) Community Rating System (CRS).

You can sign up to receive the latest LHMP information by email or text.

Opportunities for Input

Members of the community have a very important role in this process.  Hazard Mitigation Planning Committee (HMPC) and Public Meetings will be held throughout the plan development process starting fall 2020 through summer of 2021.  All interested stakeholders and members of the public are welcome to attend either of these meetings.  We encourage the public to participate as part of the Planning Committee to help inform this 2021 LHMP Update. 


No meetings are currently planned 

​A draft of the LHMP Update will also be available late spring 2021 for review and comment by the public and all interested stakeholders on the County website and in select public libraries. 

For more information on this project and how you can get involved, contact George Booth, Sacramento County Department of Water Resources (DWR) at boothg@saccounty.net.

​Progress Reports 

The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) has been available in Sacramento County since 1979, allowing access to flood insurance for property owners, tenants, and businesses. In 1992, the County joined the NFIP's Community Rating System (CRS) (Resolution 92-0250). The CRS is a voluntary incentive-based program that recognizes and encourages communities to exceed the FEMA minimum floodplain management standards and rewards communities with discounted flood insurance premiums.

The CRS uses a ranking system from ten to one. Nationally, there are 1444 communities participating in CRS, the 2017 FEMA Fact Sheet describes the significance of Sacramento County's participation (Attachment 1). Since 1992, Sacramento County has steadily improved its rating and is now a Class 2 which provides property owners, tenants, and businesses up to a 40% discount on flood insurance premiums.

In order to maintain this Class 2 rating, Sacramento County is required to provide annual reporting on: